JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

“Waiting for the big one”

Reading the feeds again tonight and I came across a story on CNN.com about the New Madrid seismic zone, which I happen to live on/near.

Earlier this year there was a 3.2 magnitude tumbler that shook parts of my room and made me feel awfully queasy for a few seconds.

The New Madrid zone has produced the most powerful earthquakes in the recorded history of North America including one in the early 1800s that could be felt for 2 million square miles. By comparison, the 1906 earthquake that decimated San Francisco could only be felt for 60,000 square miles. A more recent earthquake (1968) could be felt across 23 states. It has something to do with the makeup of the rock that he plates are “floating” on.

Anyway, If you look here you can see the earthquakes, including a 4.1 from May, over the past three months. One recurring theme in their data that sticks out at me is the “town” of Big Lake. It’s essentially just a big lake so not really a town but that’s neither here nor there. I can’t recall the number of times that I’ve been through Big Lake on my way to different places. It’s not exactly local, but it’s within a 20 minutes drive. Kind of makes me wonder…

Related Entry

Written by Jeff

Thursday, June 23, 2005 at 2:43 am

Posted in General

