JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

Brilliance in Mail.app

Every now and then, the length of the fields in Mail.app (Date Received, Subject, etc.) get thrown all out of whack and I have to fix them. I was doing so just now and noticed the most brilliant thing: It changed date format when it needed to use less space.

If I changed the physical size of the field, it would change the date format from “February 9, 2006” to “Feb 9, 2006”. This is a small thing but it prevents the use of ellipses (“February 9,…”). And it keeps getting smaller until it shows you 02/09/06

before resize after resize smaller smaller still smallest

I don’t know if other mail programs do this or not but when it finally clicked in my brain that it was happening, I was just like “Whoa!”

Written by Jeff

Thursday, February 9, 2006 at 3:00 am

Posted in Apple

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s hot!

    Stephen

    Thursday, February 9, 2006 at 4:35 pm


Comments are closed.

