JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

No words…

Mr. Halimi, 23, died Feb. 13, shortly after he was found near a train station 15 miles away by passers-by, after crawling out of the wooded area where he was dumped. He was naked and bleeding from at least four stab wounds to his throat, his hands bound and adhesive tape covering his mouth and eyes. According to the initial autopsy report, burns, apparently from the acid, covered 60 percent of his body.

Torture and Death of Jew Deepen Fears in France | NYTimes.com

Except: This is the first mention of this atrocity that I recall seeing in mainstream American press. They devote hours and hours and pages and pages to complete nonsense but not for things that actually matter.

What I do remember is hearing this story on NPR’s “All Things Considered” several weeks ago. I was stuck there in the car, riveted on the spot. I couldn’t believe that this sort of thing could happen in a civilized nation. Somewhere in my mind I knew that it really was possible, I just didn’t want to acknowledge it, I guess.

These perpetrators, all of them, from the ring leader to the girl who lured him to his death, are guilty of kidnapping, torture, and murder. They should be put down like the dogs that they are.

Written by Jeff

Sunday, March 5, 2006 at 12:59 pm

Posted in News Tidbits

