JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

XP on MacBook Pro

I was at my friend’s house tonight and he “oooh I got something to show you!” He brought in his new MacBook Pro and pressed the power switch. I looked away for a second and when I returned my gaze what did I see? A Windows logo.

I almost borched on him. Then I think I told him that he was going to burn in hell. However, since I’m a curious fellow, I sat there while he showed it to me. I have to admit that I was impressed that it worked and worked pretty well.

Note “pretty well.” It’s not a complete success. For instance, the video (like for movies) doesn’t work. Sound only comes out through the line-out and not from the built-in speakers. There were a few other things in System Mangler that also showed up with little exclamation marks. However, the networking (wireless, didn’t try wired) worked fine and everything else seemed to as well.

It’s workable. That’s about as good a compliment that I can give to Windows.

Slightly technical-ish stuff:

  • It uses a boot manager similar to what would be used for Linux/Windows multi-OS systems. When you start the machine, it shows you a colored Mac icon. Press left or right and a colored Windows icon appears. Press enter to select the OS.
  • He had to wipe and repartition his hard drive, two partitions and then place a file on the OS X partition that would “run interference” with EFI and “tell XP that there was a BIOS”.
  • He had to slipstream in several drivers, updates, etc. and then install Windows.

That’s about all I know about it. I still feel a bit queasy. :-/

Related: OS X on a Dell?

Written by Jeff

Saturday, March 18, 2006 at 3:24 am

Posted in Apple, Technology

