JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

Mandisa: She’s no ‘Idol’ to me.

Mandisa. Good singer. Not quite the person that I’d like to be the next American Idol, though.

According to The Advocate and AP, Mandisa credits Beth Moore as being her personal American Idol. Who’s Beth Moore? Some fundie Christian woman who has the following articles on her website:

1. If Your Friend Says, “I’m Gay”

What advice does this article give? How about this? “Let your friend know you hurt with him, not because of him. Express anger toward the deception in homosexuality.”

2. Gay? Not My Teen in which the following bits of advice are given to a woman asking about talking to her possibly gay son:

  • this is disturbing news that cannot be taken lightly
  • you might consider seeking a professional Christian counselor
  • Assure Cory that change is certainly possible. Many of my clients have successfully turned from a gay lifestyle. Other clients who have doubted their sexual preferences have discovered that their doubts were unfounded. With counseling, prayer, and parental support, they were able to resolve their doubts and fears.
  • If your teen needs professional help, your pastor may have a list of mental health professionals.

Umm, how long has it been since the American Psychiactric Association specifically stated that homosexuality wasn’t a mental illness? Oh, that’s right, 33.

More than 35 years of objective, well-designed scientific research has shown that homosexuality, in and itself, is not associated with mental disorders or emotional or social problems. ~APA

I find this Moore woman repulsive and I can’t help but think that anyone who claims that she’s their own personal idol must share this woman’s views, and I can’t possibly support a person who thinks that way.

Vote against Mandisa

Idol finalist Mandisa is big fan of antigay writer | Advocate.com

Written by Jeff

Tuesday, April 4, 2006 at 3:15 pm

Posted in Equality, Music, Television

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In the mid-80s, one of my best friends came out to me. He was pretty confused (as was I, in terms of what to say — we were both only 17), and he was terrified that his parents would find out. I was the only person that knew for a long time.

    But, eventually, an ex of his, being spiteful, called his mother and told her. His parents were pretty confused and upset. His dad was a real “guy’s guy” and just didn’t seem to understand.

    So they insisted that my friend go to a psychiatrist. I guess that they were thinking a few sessions would make him “good as new.” I thought it was more to make them, his parents, feel like they were taking a proactive stance to “intervene” and “fix” things.

    Slowly they seemed to accept that he is gay, and even seemed to be comfortable with it. At one stage, they had a family gathering and invited his boyfriend at the time, which I thought was a good move and would strengthen his relationship with his parents.

    A couple of years after that, he decided to move in with someone (his current partner, who he’s been with for almost 10 years). When his dad was looking around the house and saw that there was only one bedroom, with one bed, he asked my friend, “Where do you sleep?” :-/

    Raising parents can be quite a chore.

    KeenEddie

    Saturday, April 1, 2006 at 4:19 pm

  2. Thanks for the heads up. I had not seen this story. I heard her comment but thought it innocent enough. Obviously didn’t do enough research. Makes me glad I hadn’t voted for her yet.

    Greg

    Monday, April 3, 2006 at 5:46 am


Comments are closed.

