JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

Preview.app inconsistent with OS X

Something’s been bugging me for a while now. In Preview.app, if you modify an image and then try to close it, say you’re cropping a screenshot and then Export it to a different format and try to close the original, you’re given a confirmation dialog:

preview close conf

Unlike other applications, in Preview, if you hit the space bar (a keyboard shortcut for “discard without saving”), you save the image. Problem: Sometimes you don’t want to overwrite the original image.

Other applications don’t behave this way, take TextEdit for instance. Note the blue ring around “Don’t Save”:

textedit close conf

Pressing the space bar here discards the changes and closes the window.

Apple shouldn’t make a standard like “space bar discards and closes window” and not apply it universally throughout their software. I could understand some if this was a third-party application, but this is Apple’s Preview.app. Come on…

This applies to OS X 10.3.9.

Advertisements

Written by Jeff

Wednesday, April 26, 2006 at 4:01 am

Posted in Apple, Software

%d bloggers like this: