JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

I like newspapers.

Okay, odd way to title an entry, but I do. I like them. I know I can get the same information faster through the Internet, but there’s something about having the actual paper in my hand and sorting through it that appeals to me.

Take USATODAY for instance. I can get almost every story in the paper as soon as its published through its RSS feed and I can select which parts of the “paper” that I want to read thus eliminating sections that I won’t bother with like the Sports section*. I’m hardly ever interested in that part. But I can do the same thing with the actual paper, too. I can just pull that section out and toss it aside.

The same is true for magazines. I can get probably 90% of magazine content online at no cost. But for a lot of magazines, Macworld in particular, I just like having it in my hand.

RSS feeds are convenient, I can get what I want, faster than they can print it, but an actual newspaper or magazine is a different kind of convenient: I can reade it any time, anywhere.

*That’s the beauty of USATODAY’s RSS feeds. They have a separate feed for not only each section of the paper, but it’s broken down into a myriad of subcategories. The thing that really makes me love their feeds is that they don’t mix the sports headlines in with the real news. I don’t care much for it and it makes me happy that they leave it out. Other sites, like BBCNews have separate feeds, but they still mix in sports with all of the rest of them. It’s just annoying. If I want sports “news”, I’ll got to either a dedicated feed or to a site that specializes in sports “news”.

Written by Jeff

Thursday, October 12, 2006 at 4:58 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There is indeed something awesome (I guess the right word would be “tangible”) about newspapers and magazines. I know exactly what you mean about Macworld – it and EGM are the only magazines that I subscribe to (although my sister said she might get me a subscription to SPIN for Christmas).

    adb

    Thursday, October 12, 2006 at 7:39 pm


Comments are closed.

