JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

Early voting rocks!

I went and voted today. Early voting started a few days ago and runs up until the election. I used a touch screen machine and had no problems. Even the 4,000 year old woman running it had no problems.

It stacked the candidates in the races so one was on top of the other and I would have liked it better if they had been in separate columns, but that would have made the ballot considerably longer and it was already pretty hefty at six “pages”. It was most painless.

I was a bit disappointed though, because none of the Democratic candidates were liberal enough for me, but I wasn’t willing to vote Green or independent because that would increase the chance that a Republican would win when the “third-party” candidates don’t really have a shot. Kind of sad, too, when you consider that the candidate that most matches my beliefs was the Green Party candidate.

The Republican candidates, though, were too, well, evil works for me. They’re pretty much the same bigoted person across the board. “Keep our guns!” Yes. That’s what we need, more guns. More guns that kids can take and accidentally (or purposefully) shoot their siblings or more guns that troubled kids can take to school and kill their classmates with.

“Stop Illegal Immigration!” Sure. You go work in the fields for low pay a few weeks and we’ll see how long it takes before you backtrack and go out and scout for illegals to work the farms.

And then there are the “Stop Homosexual Parenting” idiots and the supporters of the “Marriage Protection Amendment” bigots. Pretty much all of the Republican candidates in the field espouse the same narrow, bigoted beliefs in this realm.

Sad thing is that many of the Democrats do, too. DINOs the lot of them. But at least on most issues aside from GLBT civil rights they “score” better.

Written by Jeff

Friday, October 27, 2006 at 2:57 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I did the absentee ballot, mailed it last week. Some people say t isn’t safe, but I’ve done it for several years and when I check online after the elections it shows I voted, so so far so good. I hope we kick their asses on Tuesday and get the idiots out of power. If more people voted we wouldn’t be in the mess we are in now. I’m thinking “good news” for Tuesday night!!

    Grigori

    Friday, November 3, 2006 at 9:24 pm


Comments are closed.

