JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

“Imus in the Hot Water”

In all of the discussion on Don Imus’ slur against the Rutgers women’s basketball team, I’ve heard a lot about “nappy-headed hos” but not so much about what was also said.  During his conversation with his producer, Bernard McGuirk, McGuirk referred to the ladies as “jigaboos”.

Some might not be familiar with the term, but in my parts, it’s just below “the N word” on the “Oh my god!  Did he just say what I think he said?” scale.   Why is no one freaking out over that?  Before I heard the recording yesterday on Democracy  Now! I didn’t even know that it had been said.  I subscribe to a lot of RSS feeds and I read a lot of articles on this but I don’t recall any mentioning “the J word”.  If I hadn’t watched DN! yesterday, I wouldn’t know about it now.

Not being a black person, maybe I just don’t get it, but, if it were me being disparaged, I would be more upset at being called “the J word” than a “nappy-headed ho”.  Maybe the reason that it’s not getting more attention is because it was just a lowly producer and not Imus himself that said it but he agreed with it which is just as bad.

I dunno, but that’s what’s been running through my head since yesterday evening.

Written by Jeff

Tuesday, April 10, 2007 at 4:14 am

Posted in Bigots, Race, Words

