JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

Sunburn and $82,000

Today was our local March of Dimes WalkAmerica event. I helped out with registration table and wound up getting a sunburn on just one side of my body. I hate it when that happens. Anyway, the walk today brought in about $6,200 in cash at the registration table and somewhere around $82,000 altogether which is just a bit shy of last year’s total but still a respectable sum.

The bulk of the money came from teams and businesses’ matching grants, but there were a few outstanding individuals who raised money by themselves. I know one woman raised at least $275 on her own. I think she’s the mother of a premature child so she had some extra incentive but that doesn’t make it any less admirable.

It was a great day (75° and sunny) and a great cause. I’m proud to have been a part.

Buy something! Help support March of Dimes

Written by Jeff

Saturday, April 28, 2007 at 8:16 pm

