JeffSay…

The station of choice for Chinquapin Parish.

Obama translations

During the Democratic debate last Thursday night, Joe Biden and Barack Obama had this exchange:

Joe Biden: …I got tested for AIDS. I know Barack got tested for AIDS. There’s no shame in being tested for AIDS. It’s an important thing because the fact of the matter is, in the communities engaged in denial, no one wants to talk about it in the community and we do not have enough leaders in the community and outside the community demanding we face the reality, confront the men in the community as well as the women, letting them know there are alternatives.

Tavis Smiley: Thank you.

Barack Obama: Tavis, I just got to make clear that I got tested with Michelle when we were in Kenya in Africa, so I don’t want any confusion here about what’s going on.

Joe Biden: Well, I got tested to save my life because I had a blood transfusion.

Barack Obama: I was tested with my wife.

Tavis Smiley: And I’m sure Michelle appreciates you clarifying that.

Barack Obama: In public.

He was so insistent that it was just a publicity stunt. God forbid anyone think he got tested because it’s a responsible thing to do.

TerranceDC at Pam’s House Blend has another take on it. He might be, and probably is, right:

Maybe I’m drawing too much on my experience as a black gay man, but Obama’s reaction came across to me as much like the reaction of so many “bruthas” when the topic of homosexuality comes up. Even the most seemingly non-homophic will follow up a seemingly progressive statement about homosexuality by saying or otherwise affirming that “I ain’t no punk.”

Pam’s House Blend:: Did Obama Blow It? That Depends…

On Joe Biden, though, and his second quoted statement, I never knew that he’d had a transfusion. I wonder if there was a real concern of tainted blood or if it was just a routine test and he’s being dramatic.

Written by Jeff

Sunday, July 1, 2007 at 3:02 pm

Posted in Health and Medicine, Politics

Tagged with

